Go Back   AmityMama.com > Frequently Asked Questions! > Techie Stuff!

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2002, 01:18 AM   #16 (permalink)
CrosseyedToad

 
Posts: n/a
Does it know your user name, or your email addy? It knew my email addy!

And, I am not certain, JUST please trust me on this one. I am certain I was one of the dummies who thought it was real, but, not the only........
 

Sponsored Links (Become a Supporting Member to hide these :)
Old 12-16-2002, 01:24 AM   #17 (permalink)
Candace
Always a geek

iTrader: 5 / 100%
 
Candace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Avalon
Posts: 7,149
I will trust you.

When I opened it it showed my email addy in the login just like the real one.

Ack!
__________________
Candace: Mama to Mollusc, Sluggie, Fishy, and the homebirthed Prawn!
P0F4X0



"Ancora Imparo"--Michaelangelo

My Strange and Fascinating Life



Fishy, Mollusc, Sluggie and Prawn


Link to My Feedback
Candace is offline  
Old 12-16-2002, 01:27 AM   #18 (permalink)
Candace
Always a geek

iTrader: 5 / 100%
 
Candace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Avalon
Posts: 7,149
ooh! I just typed in the real one to my browser and it's different. There is stuff that wasn't on that other site! Boy that other one looks real!
Candace is offline  
Old 12-16-2002, 01:33 AM   #19 (permalink)
CrosseyedToad

 
Posts: n/a
I know, sad huh!

And, you would have thought i'd known better, but, I thought the same thing...it knew my email addy. However, I was told, it somehow gets your email addy you are on and adds it to the window, hence, it does not really know yout user name, just your email addy. For example, I have 7 AOL account names I can use. So, had I signed on under the one I use now, instead of what I used then, it would have shown that email addy as my user name. My best friends DH is a computer guru and tried to explain it to me. So, had I logged on under (just examples) Mom@aol.com, it would have shown that as my user name instead of dad@aol.com. Does that make sense? I also just deleted the link so no one would be tempted and get scammed to, but, if you ever get an email like that one, please be smarter than me.........
 
Old 12-16-2002, 10:31 AM   #20 (permalink)
renata
Registered User

iTrader: 1 / 100%
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 1,771
Re: If you use Paypal, or Ebay, this is a MUST READ!!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by QTPatooties

(snip)
Paypal.com has a company set to scam from anyone who accidently types in paypal.com. Notice the second period at the end of paypal.com (Paypal.com.)
Quote:
Registrar Name....: Register.com
Registrar Whois...: whois.register.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.register.com

Domain Name: PAYPALSYS.COM
As I've been saying ALL along, you were scammed by PAYPALSYS.com, NOT by paypal.com. , as paypal.com. is the real paypal's site. Good that you are trying to alert others, but it would be better to advice to check the URL on top in the browser - and it WOULD say that you are in paypalsys.com .

Once again, for everyone: paypal.com. , amitymama.com. , ebay.com. , etc just forward to REAL sites . PAYPALSYS.COM is clearly NOT paypal's URL


Last effort on my part to educate...


P.S. paypalsys.com has been taken offline already... watch out for other scams.
__________________
--Renata

my skating blog



Backwards (back crossovers)

Last edited by renata : 12-16-2002 at 10:36 AM.
renata is offline  
Old 12-16-2002, 11:17 AM   #21 (permalink)
Candace
Always a geek

iTrader: 5 / 100%
 
Candace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Avalon
Posts: 7,149
hmmm

the url did not take me to paypalsys.com. the url in the browser said paypal.com/abunchofotherstuffican'tremember

and it looked just like a paypal page UNTIL I typed paypal.com in and saw the current page with its little colour ads and whatever

how can that be?

looking at the url IN THE BROWSER WINDOW after clicking her link, I would not have been able to tell I wasn't at paypal. I looked to see if there was anything to tip me off, but I found nothing.
Candace is offline  
Old 12-16-2002, 11:40 AM   #22 (permalink)
Chickapea
You can call me flower

iTrader: 16 / 94%
 
Chickapea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Western NC
Posts: 11,554
I don't have much to add EXCEPT

NEVER follow links through e-mails to Pay Pal, ebay or anything similar. It is better to go directly to the site and go where you need to go, lest you risk it.

I *do* always sign in to httpS://www.paypal.com b/c that is what they say to do so you are on the secure server. Just going by what they say, whether it's true or not, I dunno. LOL
__________________
Mom to four great kiddos

AND Griffin Davis due to join us in May 2009!
Chickapea is offline  
Old 12-16-2002, 12:05 PM   #23 (permalink)
renata
Registered User

iTrader: 1 / 100%
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 1,771
http://www.internetnews.com/ec-news/article.php/1470291 (as a bunch of other sites report, too)

Basically, as I already said: in that particular scam, the URL in html-formatted e-mail looks like it links to https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr/?cmd=_login-run, in reality the link is to http://www.paypalsys.com/cgibin/webscr/?cmd=_login-run

Unless there's a new scam going around, that is all there is to it (the paypalsys.com site is down now, btw). This is not a new scam, since Jennifer says she's fighting with paypal about this for weeks.
renata is offline  
Old 12-16-2002, 03:21 PM   #24 (permalink)
Candace
Always a geek

iTrader: 5 / 100%
 
Candace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Avalon
Posts: 7,149
well, when I clicked on her link (before she removed it) the url after I got to the page said paypal.com/abunchofothergarbage

I didn't think that was possible. Unless there was a space in there that I missed or something like that?? The reason I find it so creepy is that after going there and looking at the url in my browser it was NOT paypalsys.com, just paypal.com. Ack. But it WAS different that the reg Paypal page when I checked that. Not much, though.

Or maybe I just totally missed a letter, but I really thought it only said paypal.com/etc because I was specifically looking for that.

edit

I take it back - I used your link Renata and it was the exact same thing you gave - the login page instead of the home page. So her link was legit. That's weird.
Candace is offline  
Old 12-16-2002, 03:39 PM   #25 (permalink)
renata
Registered User

iTrader: 1 / 100%
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 1,771
Quote:
Originally posted by Candace
well, when I clicked on her link (before she removed it) the url after I got to the page said paypal.com/abunchofothergarbage

I didn't think that was possible. Unless there was a space in there that I missed or something like that?? The reason I find it so creepy is that after going there and looking at the url in my browser it was NOT paypalsys.com, just paypal.com. Ack. But it WAS different that the reg Paypal page when I checked that. Not much, though.

Or maybe I just totally missed a letter, but I really thought it only said paypal.com/etc because I was specifically looking for that.

edit

I take it back - I used your link Renata and it was the exact same thing you gave - the login page instead of the home page. So her link was legit. That's weird.
The way it happened, Candace, is that in that scam e-mail they used html formatting to hide the real link it was sending victims to. The formatted URL was https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr/?cmd=_login-run , the "hidden" URL was http://www.paypalsys.com/cgibin/webscr/?cmd=_login-run (that's where the victims were sent after clicking on the formatted URL).

Since Jennifer copied and pasted the e-mail in plain-text format (NOT in html formatting), the "hidden" URL got lost, and you just got the legitimate Paypal link. Thus the confusion.

Once again, to clear this up for all confused: Jennifer was a victim of PAYPALSYS.COM scam. If you saw the scam URL before she edited the message, you saw the legitimate Paypal link, as the "hidden" URL (where you really were linked to in e-mail) was lost by copying & pasting.

And, once again: PAYPAL.COM. is a REAL Paypal's site. See all my postings above.

--Renata
renata is offline  
Old 12-16-2002, 03:42 PM   #26 (permalink)
Candace
Always a geek

iTrader: 5 / 100%
 
Candace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Avalon
Posts: 7,149
Oooohhhhhh!

THANK YOU! I was soooooo confused! Whew. OK so now I feel better about checking the browser and knowing that fakes will be exposed. Sorry to be so thick, LOL!
Candace is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertisements

Directory Sponsor



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC8
Amitymama.com (c) 1998-2005