Go Back   AmityMama.com > General Discussion > Ebayin' mamas

Ebayin' mamas Whether you auction here, there or anywhere, stop in to get the latest info.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2004, 07:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
MyThreeSuns
Registered User

iTrader: 11 / 100%
 
MyThreeSuns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Stuck in the mitten forever.
Posts: 3,561
Ebay email..is this for real?

I got this from ebay last night:


Account Pre-Suspension Notice




Dear murphyette68 (murphyette@charter.net),

You have received this email because we have strong reason to believe that your eBay account had been recently compromised used by a third party without your authorization. In order to prevent any fraudulent activity from occurring we are required to open an investigation into this matter. To speed up this process, you are required to verify your eBay infos by following the link below.

http://signin.ebay.com/eBayISAPI.dll...D=murphyette68

(To complete the verification process you must fill in all the required fields)

Please Note - If your account informations are not updated within the next 72 hours, then we will assume this account is fraudulent and will be suspended. We apologize for this inconvenience, but the purpose of this verification is to ensure that your eBay account has not been fraudulently used and to combat fraud.

We apreciate your support and understading, as we work together to keep eBay a safe place to trade.

Thank you for your patience and attention in this important matter.

Regards,

Naomi,
Fraud Prevention Group

Do not respond to this e-mail

And then I got this from Paypal:
We recently noticed one or more attempts to log in to your PayPal account
from a foreign IP address.

If you recently accessed your account while traveling, the unusual log in
attempts may have been initiated by you. However, if you did not initiate
the log ins, please visit PayPal as soon as possible

https://www.paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run

This is a security measure that will ensure that you are
the only person with access to the account.

Thanks for your patience as we work together to protect your account.

Sincerely,
PayPal

----------------------------------------------------------------
PROTECT YOUR PASSWORD

NEVER give your password to anyone and ONLY log in at
https://www.paypal.com/. Protect yourself against fraudulent websites by
opening a new web browser (e.g. Internet Explorer or Netscape) and typing
in the PayPal URL every time you log in to your account.

----------------------------------------------------------------


Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be
answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the
"Help" link in the header of any page.

PayPal Email ID PP321
MyThreeSuns is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links (Become a Supporting Member to hide these :)
Old 07-14-2004, 07:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
RocketScientist
Adminimama



iTrader: 44 / 100%
 
RocketScientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: In awe of the skies
Posts: 5,035
Don't believe it. For one, they didn't address you by *name*, which ebay would do. For another, it's highly likely that the link you are supposed to click on will bring you to another site besides ebay, even though it *looks* like you're going to ebay. It sort of works like this : www.ebay.com - you think you're going to ebay but it's really to amazon when you click. Forward the email to spoof@ebay.com . More info at http://pages.ebay.com/help/confidence/spoof-email.html
__________________
Margaret
Blessed with four, one in heaven


Weeping Willows HC
feedback on HC



Click here for viewing or leaving me feedback!
Click here to learn how to put pictures in your posts & sig files!
PM box full? Click here!

"If I accept you as you are, I will make you worse; however, if I treat you as though you are what you are capable of becoming, I help you become that" Goethe
RocketScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 09:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
MyThreeSuns
Registered User

iTrader: 11 / 100%
 
MyThreeSuns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Stuck in the mitten forever.
Posts: 3,561
Well, I think it is kind of fishy that I got a Paypal email on the same day. So...the Paypal one is fraudulent too?? Anybody know where I can forward that one to?
MyThreeSuns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 11:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
mama-speak
Tickered no more!

iTrader: 1 / 100%
 
mama-speak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,701
spoof@paypal.com
__________________
Melanie :: grad school mama to two little sweeties
mama-speak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 11:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
ReeseMomma
Bah-Humbug!

iTrader: 0 / 0%
 
ReeseMomma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midwest
Posts: 1,972
Anytime they ask you to fill in information in the actual email, it's fake. If they ask you to follow a link, I just go to PayPal (or eBay) by typing it in my address bar.

Forward it to spoof@paypal.com or spoof@ebay.com They usually respond very quickly.
__________________
I've Been BOO'D!!!!

~Sarah~Single Momma to Reese~ 4-30-02~


My Feedback!
ReeseMomma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertisements

Directory Sponsor



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC8
Amitymama.com (c) 1998-2005