Ebay email..is this for real? [Archive] - AmityMama.com

View Full Version : Ebay email..is this for real?


MyThreeSuns
07-14-2004, 07:39 AM
I got this from ebay last night:


Account Pre-Suspension Notice




Dear murphyette68 (murphyette@charter.net),

You have received this email because we have strong reason to believe that your eBay account had been recently compromised used by a third party without your authorization. In order to prevent any fraudulent activity from occurring we are required to open an investigation into this matter. To speed up this process, you are required to verify your eBay infos by following the link below.

http://signin.ebay.com/eBayISAPI.dll?Signln&UserID=murphyette68

(To complete the verification process you must fill in all the required fields)

Please Note - If your account informations are not updated within the next 72 hours, then we will assume this account is fraudulent and will be suspended. We apologize for this inconvenience, but the purpose of this verification is to ensure that your eBay account has not been fraudulently used and to combat fraud.

We apreciate your support and understading, as we work together to keep eBay a safe place to trade.

Thank you for your patience and attention in this important matter.

Regards,

Naomi,
Fraud Prevention Group

Do not respond to this e-mail

And then I got this from Paypal:
We recently noticed one or more attempts to log in to your PayPal account
from a foreign IP address.

If you recently accessed your account while traveling, the unusual log in
attempts may have been initiated by you. However, if you did not initiate
the log ins, please visit PayPal as soon as possible

https://www.paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run

This is a security measure that will ensure that you are
the only person with access to the account.

Thanks for your patience as we work together to protect your account.

Sincerely,
PayPal

----------------------------------------------------------------
PROTECT YOUR PASSWORD

NEVER give your password to anyone and ONLY log in at
https://www.paypal.com/. Protect yourself against fraudulent websites by
opening a new web browser (e.g. Internet Explorer or Netscape) and typing
in the PayPal URL every time you log in to your account.

----------------------------------------------------------------


Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be
answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the
"Help" link in the header of any page.

PayPal Email ID PP321

RocketScientist
07-14-2004, 07:54 AM
Don't believe it. For one, they didn't address you by *name*, which ebay would do. For another, it's highly likely that the link you are supposed to click on will bring you to another site besides ebay, even though it *looks* like you're going to ebay. It sort of works like this : www.ebay.com (www.amazon.com) - you think you're going to ebay but it's really to amazon when you click. Forward the email to spoof@ebay.com . More info at http://pages.ebay.com/help/confidence/spoof-email.html

MyThreeSuns
07-14-2004, 09:09 AM
Well, I think it is kind of fishy that I got a Paypal email on the same day. So...the Paypal one is fraudulent too?? Anybody know where I can forward that one to?

mama-speak
07-14-2004, 11:03 AM
spoof@paypal.com :thumbsup:

ReeseMomma
07-14-2004, 11:09 AM
Anytime they ask you to fill in information in the actual email, it's fake. If they ask you to follow a link, I just go to PayPal (or eBay) by typing it in my address bar.

Forward it to spoof@paypal.com or spoof@ebay.com They usually respond very quickly.