SO: My vegan diet (ideas and such)

Discussion in 'Veggie Recipes' started by KD, Feb 1, 2010.

1. KD

KD invisible

Right where I wanna be- south bay area of sunny CA
    After reading the recent vegan thread i wanted to put this out there... When i find time I plan on blogging my experience for my friends and posting what I have made and things I love. until then...

I am by no means an expert. I still feel like I have so much to learn and I continue to learn. But on the flip-side I have learned so much and I wanted to share my story!
    I went vegetarian a few years ago and vegan 18+ months ago. I do consider myself a healthy eater but I also like real food and was afraid to even try going vegetarian much less vegan. I decided to just try going vegetarian for ONE month. To my amazement the month went by and I continued. A year later I was sure I was just going to try being vegan for ONE month (it was on my "do before I die list" LOL) and again it continued.
    Alicia Silverstone talks about "flirting" with the idea and changes and I agree. Everything was in steps. First no red meat/pork (did that for 12 years before I took the next step LOL!), then vegetarian for a year and then vegan. Nothing was overnight and nothing was really a shock to my system honestly. I would try new meals that would fit my next goals to see how they worked for me. I would try and not use ___ when baking and see how it went. I would order it veggie or vegan when out. It was a slow process but the end was the same but much less painless! LOL!

I am very active so I try and accommodate that in my diet. It's not exactly a normal vegan diet i don't think.. But vegan diet's vary so so much i have learned (we are a household of 3 vegans and 2 vegetarians and all vary).
    I do not at all feel tried, run down or less healthy in a way whatsoever. if you do in ANY diet you are doing something wrong IMO.