Shirring A Long :)

Discussion in 'Sewing & Craft' started by *Heather*, May 27, 2005.

1. *Heather*

*Heather* :) :) :)

I am not sure how to post this at the sew a long board.

Hope this isn't too confusing...any questions please let me know...if you have something you want to add please feel free. I need to add more pics as well.

Shirred Dress...optional ruffle on bottom.

We will be making this dress :)

[​IMG]

A very simple dress. Has lots of shirring lines so it allows tons and tons of practice :)

What you will need:

~Fabric of your choice (amt depends on size of dress)~
    ~Matching Top Thread~
    ~Wound bobbin with matching thread~
    ~Elastic thread wound in bobbin.~
    ~Marking Pen~
    ~Ruler~
    ~Measuring Tape~

***I am not very good with technical terms so please bare with me as I try to explain this the best I can :)***

Step #1. Measure your little one :)
    *Chest circumfrence (I usually round up or down to the nearest .5 or whole measurement)
    *Measure from armpit to waist
    *Measure from waist to the length you would like your dress (or top) to be. (Keep in mind if you are adding a ruffle to the bottom you may want to drecrease this measurement according to the size you want your ruffle to be) Add seam allowance to all measurements, however do not lengthen the armpit to waist measurement.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Step #2. Now apply those measurements to your fabric as follows :).

*A. Half the chest measurement. Draw a straight line from the fold line towards the salvage the length of this measurement. (for example if my chest measurement was 18, I would draw a line 9 inches long)
    *B. From that corner draw a straightline down the full measurement that you got from measuring armpit to waist. (this is not the waist line...the waist will be 1-2 inches below this point)
    *C. At that point. Take your ruler and angle it very outwards to form a tiny A-line.