SERIOUS menstral issues after 2-1/2 years of nursing

Discussion in 'Breastfeeding' started by Willow, Nov 8, 2008.

1. Willow

Willow New Member

Hello everyone,

I've been nursing my twins for almost 2-1/2 years now, and about a week ago I started having menstrual cramps. Ok, I thought, here's my period back. But it's been 8 DAYS of cramps, lower back pain, headaches and the like, and no bleeding other than just a touch of spotting on the first day.

My midwife said, yeah, well, that can happen after three years of no period and suggested giving me some nasty drug to force my body to have a period (basically a morning-after pill type deal). I've been taking ginger and black cohosh to no effect (as well as lots of cramp bark and advil).

Has anyone had a similar experience? Should I call the midwife again and deal with the nasty drug? I don't want to mess with my body too much, but I'm taking medication every day as it is to keep me sane. Any suggestions will be so appreciated!!
  2. joli

joli sitting at the head of the Amity round table

bump for ya Stac
  3. Willow

Willow New Member

Sorry, I'm a dope--what does that mean?? I think the wacky hormones are making me a bit dim!
  4. annsni

annsni Amity's Focus Member

Jo was just posting to the thread to push it back to the top of the first page (bumping).