How do I get the STINK out of my dipes?

Discussion in 'Cloth Diapering' started by bellee, Sep 21, 2005.

1. bellee

bellee ugh

I've been CDing nearly constantly for over 3 years now. I never had a problem with stinky dipes ever. I recieved some dipes in a trade that were stinky (I was warned to wash them seperately but I totally forgot. I'm now kicking myself daily :eyes: ) and I washed them with the next washload of dipes and now my whole entire stash stinks. This was months ago, maybe close to 6 months. I've tried "stripping" the dipes (washing them once with soap then several times without, that's stripping right? ;) ), sunning them (I line dried them for months). I've used TTO and hydrogen peroxcide repeatedly. What else should I do? My dipes really stink and it makes me not want to use them :( I've got some great new dipes on the way and I don't want them to stink after the first washing.

Someone please help me :wah: :wah:
  2. huskrkid

huskrkid Got Yarn?

Have you tried vinegar?

That's horribly frustrating. :eyes:
  3. bellee

bellee ugh

It is frustrating...and gross <yuck>

I haven't tried vinegar or baking soda for that matter. That was going to be my next shot. I actually thought that by putting the BS in the washload maybe it would absorb the stink then take it down the drain LOL Maybe it doesn't really work like that LOL

I used to use vinegar as fabric softener all the time but I stopped cuz I didn't notice a difference. Maybe I should try it again. Should I put it in the downey ball or put it right in with the water? And should I plop so baking soda in there too while I'm at it?
  4. Cloth4Colin

Cloth4Colin Member