Disposable diapers are so expensive - can we talk cloth? - or, am I nuts

Discussion in 'Cloth Diapering' started by tikva18, Sep 25, 2005.

1. tikva18

tikva18 busy building blocks

I could be verifiably crazy, but we are going through TONS of diapers. So talk to me about cloth. Would I be nuts to try cloth with twins? What kind would I get? how many would I need? how much are they? how would I get all that laundry done? basically, I have no help at home so I need to be able to swing this on my own.
  2. lupineperriwink

lupineperriwink Gnome Queen

We started Lily in cloth and then she outgrew everything LOL. We went to sposies for quite a while and now we are back with cloth. I am by no means an expert but I love the pocket diapers. They are simple and easy.
  3. PoetMom

PoetMom Changing my family tree.

Here's what we did. First, I bought a HUGE box of the smallest disposables online. I think it was like 4 x 180 diapers for way less than store prices. The quality was poor, but it was fine because the twins were going through 25 diapers a day, kwim?

This got us to eight weeks. At eight weeks I started cloth diapering ONLY 8am to 8pm. I had 36 diapers, a mix of fitted and flat. If I had it to do over again, I'd do only unbleached prefolds because it's SO much cheaper and in the long run -- just as good as the fitteds. I didn't need to pin until the twins were walking (and pinning is just not that hard at all after you get used to it. Pinning can give a GREAT fit.). EDITED to add: we went to 24-hours cloth diapers around 12 weeks. After a few really awful experiences with massive blowouts in public, I went to using disposables only when I knew we'd be gone from the house more than four hours. So we did exclusively cloth except for day outings for about two years.