Considering what to do with Stephanie in the fall

Discussion in 'Alternative Learning' started by Maura, May 18, 2009.

1. Maura

Maura Gene Genie

So, she will not be returning to PreK in the fall. She will turn 5 in October. I have never done any homeschooling before, but I may want to do something informal with her since she will be home all year. Any ideas?
  2. Maura

Maura Gene Genie

Anyone??
  3. nanci

nanci jelly belly

Animal worlds.....cannot remember the curriculum name...Hmmm...OH, it's Winter promise. You could keep the price lower by borrowing books from the library!
  4. Maura

Maura Gene Genie

Thanks! I'll check it out.
  5. annb

annb It's like herding cats.

The Handwriting Without Tears book for 4-5 year olds. And some cheap workbooks like they sell at Walmart or Borders or someplace like that. And lots of books from the library.
  6. jma924

jma924 New Member

How about something like Before Five In A Row?
  7. DixieChick

DixieChick One Hot Mama!

With that age, I'd do some explode the code, and lots of reading. Maybe some simple math manipulatives. Check out Ruth Beechick's books. She has great ideas and very simple.
  8. nanci

nanci jelly belly

I forgot my favorite...what we did with Izzi. Five in a Row. Really really easy and lots of reading and FUN! Also, cheap!:lol:
  9. SnowWhite

SnowWhite New Member

Andrew's birthday is Sept 25 and he will be doing the Animals and Their Worlds theme from WinterPromise. I also ordered him their Basic Phonics K Language Arts Program and a Bob Jones Math K5 program. I can't wait to start this stuff with him. It looks so *cute* compared to the third grade stuff his brother will be doing (Don't get me wrong, I am thrilled to be studying the Civil War and the 20th century with him, but there's just something so much fun about kindy stuff).
  10. Maura

Maura Gene Genie

Thanks for all of the suggestions:)
  11. harvestgirl

harvestgirl escape to chimp eden!