An Ethiopian smorgasboard

Discussion in 'Food and Cooking' started by 3boysnagrl, Oct 10, 2010.

1. 3boysnagrl

3boysnagrl Amity's Focus Member

So on Tuesday, Sarah (snugbug) is going to be here to visit for a few hours. I also have a potluck at my Bible Study that evening, so I decided I would just make a LOT of Ethiopian food.

I have a sourdough starter on my counter and tomorrow night I will start the injera making process. Injera is a large round sourdough pancake-type bread. It uses teff flour, and it's not turned - so the top looks like a sponge, with lots of popped bubbles. This is my first attempt at making it more true - the other two times I made it I used a quick method, and it wasn't anything like the real stuff. Making a batch of injera is a 3 step process, and has to be started the day before the injera is cooked. So... tomorrow I will be starting that process with the sourdough starter I have on the counter.

Yesterday I made some nitr kibeh, basically a spiced ghee. This is used in all the dishes I will be preparing.

I will be also cooking up 2 meat dishes: doro wat and beef tibbs. The doro wat is a spicy chicken stew, using skinless thighs and legs. The beef tibbs is small bite sized pieces of beef cooked in the nitr kibeh, with onions.

I'll be making cabbage/carrots/potatoes all seasoned with a turmeric spice blend. I'll also be preparing gomen - cooked collards/spinach with the nitr kibeh.

Two more dishes will be made: misr wat and kik wat. Misr wat is a spicy (uses the same seasonings as the doro wat) lentil. Kik wat is a garlic/ginger/turmeric spiced yellow split pea dish.